Arts Centre Group Drama Awards 2015

This year we were looking for revue scripts of 29 minutes in length that could find a radio outlet or be adapted for stage. Subject matter can focus on one subject or for instance, in a revue of ’Life in Britain in the last decade’, it could cover various subjects and use different media. Material should have a social, political or religious dimension. You can suggest music or compose your own music both for a signature tune and if wished to punctuate the items. The one minute from 30 is intended for the show title, credits and music. However, the suggested music may be a riff or a sample, rather than a new composition. You may, if you choose to, make it a musical revue. Ensure timing is correct.

There are two awards:

  • The Julian Battersby Award for young playwrights under the age of 25. Prize £300.

  • The Jasperian Drama Award for playwrights age of 25 and over. Prize £100.

The Competition Administrator was Tony Jasper, author, broadcaster, playwright and actor.

Scripts would have been judged by a team of distinguished judges, including theatre and radio directors and producers. Judges were as follows:

  • Tony Jasper Broadcaster/Journalist/Playwright/Actor

  • Tim Blackmore Former Head of Music on Capital Radio, Exec Producer BBC Radio 1, Managing Director Unique Broadcasting

  • Les Ellison Playwright whose plays and revue sketches have found theatre and radio performance

  • Cathy Sara Actress whose credits include regular work on The Archers, and involvement in actor training

  • Peter Moreton is a founder member of Applecart Theatre Company. He has toured extensively as an actor and been cast for works from major companies, including Cheek by Jowl and the RSC.

General Requirements

The script should not have been broadcast other than on student, hospital or local radio. It should also not have been performed within a professional theatre context.

Entry fee for the under 25 category is £10 per text. Entry fee for the over 25 category is £20 per text. For an additional fee of £30, the text may be evaluated.

  Closing date was 7th September 2015.

In the event no awards were made due to insufficient entries.


Tony Jasper